What is Enneagram Test?

The Enneagram test is a study of the nine root types of basic people. It tells why we react the way we do, and it stresses that particular point to specific ways for individual growth.

It is very important tool now a days for improving our behaviour with others which is helpful for family friends and co-workers.

So from where Enneagram originated?

To find the primary traces of the Enneagram test we have to go back many centuries (…. not years). Even after going back many centuries, we are still not sure about its origin, but there is a belief that it had been taught orally and secretly in Sufi brotherhoods in the Middle East.

Enneagram test
Origin of enneagram

Thanks to Russian mystical teacher G. I. Gurdjieff, who introduced the Enneagram test to Europe in the 1920s, and later from there it arrived in 1960 in the United States.

Jump to Enneagram Test right away….

Syntax of Enneagram

Pronounced as ANY-a-gram it is represented as system of circle containing a nine pointed star-like shape.

Ennea means ‘number nine’ in Greek and gram means ‘a drawing’.

How Enneagram can help us?

Enneagram teaches that our natural talents and abilities help us to build strategies early in life so that we can cope up with the situations related to family and personal circumstances.

Enneagram is very important for us if we want to develop a deeper understanding of society and learn many alternatives to our own patterns of behavior.  After that, we can take a break from mundane strategies of life management and begin to see life from a broader perspective.

There are lots of variations within each type of person from factors such as maturity, parent types, birth order, cultural values, ethics, and most importantly, genetics. We also assess other for generally being introverted and extroverted.

So many people who share common traits, have same basic  motivations and view of the world in similar fashion.

Let’s move around the Enneagram

Can you draw the Enneagram ?

1. Can you draw the Enneagram?

First, let’s make 9 points on the circumference of a circle. Now (a) Let’s join 3 dots to make a triangle. (b) With the remaining 6 points, let’s try to make a six-pointed shape (looks like the legs of a spider to me.)

2. Understanding the Arrows

Each point on the Enneagram is ‘one on two’. One point connects with two other points. These two points are called your arrows.

So, when you are relaxed, take all the positive qualities of the number that connects to your number. Example: 1-7-5-8-2-4-1 and 3-6-9-3.

One is going to Seven, Seven is going to five, and so on. When you are not relaxed and under stress, you reverse the directions: Now one will take the negative qualities of Four, Four will take of Two, and so on.

3. Introducing Wings

Wings for Enneagram test

If your Enneagram test result is ‘Nine’, it may have some characteristics of a One or an Eight. So One and Eight are called neighbors of Nine. So these neighboring types will be called as your wings.

A Brief Description of the Nine Types

9 types in Enneagram Test
Enneagram 9 types

1. Perfectionists

They are realistic, lead a principled life and conscientious. They try to live an ideal life.

2. Helpers

They are warm, concerned, nurturing and very sensitive to other’s needs.

3. Achievers

They are energetic, self-assured, goal oriented and optimistic.

4. Romantics

They have sensitive feelings and are perceptive and warm.

5. Observers

They are introvert, curious, insightful, analytical and always in search for knowledge.

6. Questioners

They are loyal to family and friends. They are responsible, trustworthy. They have a range of personalities, from reserved and timid to outspoken and confrontative.

7. Adventurers

Are optimistic, lively and energetic. They want to be everywhere.

8. Asserters

Are self-reliant, direct, self-confident and have protective attitude.

9. Pacemakers

Are good-natured, supporting and receptive. They seek peace whenever they go. They contribute to world peace.

Finding your ‘Center’

Centers of Enneagram

3 connecting types make a center. There are 3 centers in the Enneagram test, the heart, the head, and the gut. Finding your center is key to knowing your type.

1. The Heart/Feeling Center ( Image builder)

Helpers (twos) are interested in mixing up with people and believe in nurturing. They are usually sensitive about a loving image of themselves.

Achievers (Threes) want to be in a limelight, according to social norms.

Romantics (Fours) want to express strong needs to themselves and want to be seen as original.

2. The Head of Thinking Center (Safety Builder)

Observers (Fives) find safety in knowledge and rely on their own resources.

Questioners (Sixes) seek relief from rebelling against authority figures. They want approval and permission from them.

Adventurers (Sevens) are optimistic and active. They are capable of suppressing fear and ensure safety for themselves.

3. The Gut or Center of Instinct (Anger)

Asserters (Eights) are not afraid to express their anger as they present a strong image.

Pacemakers (Nines) can often be out of touch when angry as they are agreeable, accomodating.

Perfectionists (Ones) follow standards of behavior closely or try to better society. They see anger as a flaw of character and try to control it.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top